crewstill.blogg.se

Mjg eightball paid my dues
Mjg eightball paid my dues






mjg eightball paid my dues mjg eightball paid my dues

In the process he creates a pensive ode to artists of all forms, music or otherwise, exclaiming “Try for yourself / Just know that I was once considered just a dreamer / But I paid my dues and turned so many doubters to believers / They used to say….” It’s hard to imagine any rap artist will create an equally picturesque tale of self-discovery any time soon. He tells us about his family and friends ignoring his dreams of being the next Eightball & MJG or Three 6 Mafia, his struggles to pay attention during football practice because he was too busy writing rhymes on his equipment, and his early attempts at coming up as a rapper in Meridian, Mississippi, a town as well known for its rap exports as Idaho is for its metropolitan areas. tells us the quite detailed story of how he came to stand on stages for a career.

mjg eightball paid my dues mjg eightball paid my dues

Built on a sample of the Brothers of Soul’s “Dream” that whispers “he’s dreaming” and “it’s not for real” under 808 kicks and Southern guitar licks, K.R.I.T. has plenty of songs I’d call definitively essential to hear, but “Dreamin'” takes the quintessential mount in his songbook for combining all of his best traits into four intensely personal minutes.








Mjg eightball paid my dues